DWI Penalties & Consequences

An Impaired Driving Arrest Does Not Have To Ruin Your Life

If you were pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence (DWI/DUI), the aftermath can spill into every facet of your life, from jail time and fines to driving privileges or problems with employment.

Because of the harsh and lasting consequences, the legal team at Sheridan & Dulas, P.A., is committed to fighting your DWI, not simply plea bargaining your case. We have obtained dismissals and acquittals in every type of case, even repeat offenses and felony DWI.

DWI in Minnesota? · Contact us immediately.
We fight the criminal charges and license revocation. Contact us today for a free consultation. We serve clients in the Twin Cities and throughout Minnesota.

Do You Understand The DWI/DUI Penalties And Consequences?

We routinely see people representing themselves in court or whose attorney pleads them guilty at the first court appearance. This makes us cringe because we regularly mitigate the penalties or spare clients altogether. Improper representation or failing to fight a DWI can lead to:

  • Jail or prison
  • Steep fines and court costs
  • Loss of driver's license
  • Mandatory alcohol assessment or treatment
  • Probation and random testing
  • Ignition interlock at your expense
  • Embarrassing "whiskey plates" on your cars
  • Forfeiture of your vehicle
  • A criminal record and employment ramifications
  • Professional license sanctions
  • Drastically higher insurance premiums or canceled policy

The potential penalties vary with the underlying DWI/DUI offense and aggravating factors such as prior convictions or test refusals, high BAC or driving drunk with a child in the car. In Minnesota, there are four levels of DWI:

Fourth-degree DWI - Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs with no aggravating factors. This is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine, plus any of the penalties listed above.

Third-degree DWI - Driving under the influence with one aggravating factor or refusal with no aggravating factors. This is a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in county jail and $3,000 in fines.

Second-degree DWI - Driving under the influence with two aggravating factors or a refusal with one aggravating factor. This is a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in county jail and $3,000 in fines.

First-Degree DWI - A DWI/DUI or test refusal with three priors. This is a felony offense punishable by up to seven years in state prison and up to $14,000 in fines. A person sentenced for felony DWI is also subject to five years of "conditional release" (extended parole) after the prison term is served.

There are also separate felony charges for causing an injury or death while driving under the influence.

We Fight To Avoid The Worst Drunk Driving Consequences

Criminal defense lawyer Jeffrey Sheridan has been selected multiple times for inclusion in Super Lawyers and Best Lawyers in America, and has three times been named Attorney of the Year by Minnesota Lawyer, chiefly for his accomplishments in DWI defense. He has successfully defended clients in high-profile DWI cases in which a straight conviction would spell personal or professional ruin. He brings more than 25 years of experience to your case, and a passionate and creative approach that has helped hundreds of clients escape or limit punishment for a DWI arrest.

Contact Sheridan & Dulas online or call now at 651-968-1249. From our offices in Eagan, we handle DUI or DWI charges in Dakota County, the greater Twin Cities and statewide Minnesota.