Aggressive DWI/DUI Defense In Minnesota
A driving drunk arrest involves both the criminal charges and a completely separate administrative driver’s license proceeding. In order to effectively fight a DWI charge, you must be represented by someone who is prepared to fight each of those separate battles. You need a lawyer who is equipped to investigate the facts of your case and prepared to challenge the law.
Sheridan & Dulas, P.A., has been recognized as one of the top DUI/DWI defense firms in the country. We do not believe in pleading cases out at the first court appearance. We offer a smart and fierce defense to fight the charges and spare our clients from the harsh and lasting consequences of a conviction.
Arrested for drunk driving? Talk to one of our attorneys today. We handle DWI/DUI cases in the Twin Cities and statewide Minnesota. Contact us without delay for a free consultation with our renowned team.
Minnesota’s Tough DWI Laws Demand Aggressive Representation
Under Minnesota law, you can face DWI/DUI charges and license revocation for:
- Impairment – Driving, operating or controlling a motor vehicle while “under the influence” of alcohol, drugs or a intoxicating substance, based on physical evidence and observations of the arresting officer.
- Over the legal limit – Driving, operating or controlling a motor vehicle with (a) a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or greater or (b) any measurable amount of a Schedule I or II controlled substance in your bloodstream.
- Chemical test refusal – Refusing a lawful request to submit to a breath, blood or urine test to determine the amount of alcohol or presence of drugs.
There are three aggravating factors that will escalate the charges and the penalties:
- Child on board – Having a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle.
- High BAC – Blood alcohol concentration of .16 or greater
- Prior drunk driving offenses – Any DWI/DUI within the preceding 10 years, including test refusals and alcohol-related license revocations.
We Fight For Our Clients · From First-Time DWI To Felony Drunk Driving
A first offense with no aggravating factors (4th degree DWI) is a misdemeanor crime, but the penalties and consequences for any drunk driving conviction should be avoided if at all possible. A second offense or a first-time DWI with one aggravating factor (3rd degree DWI) becomes a gross misdemeanor, which ratchets up the jail time and other penalties. DWI becomes a felony crime (1st degree DWI) with three prior offenses within the preceding 10 years and is punishable by up to seven years in prison.
Drunk driving that contributes to another person’s injury or death can be charged as a serious felony of criminal vehicular operation or homicide. All DWI arrests can result in loss of license, but that is a separate proceeding. It is possible to lose your criminal case and keep your driver’s license, and vice versa. Our goal is to win both cases or do everything in our power to mitigate the punishment.
Criminal defense lawyer Jeffrey Sheridan has been recognized by his legal peers as one of the top DWI attorneys in Minnesota. In fact, he has been involved in six landmark cases that struck down portions of the state’s DWI laws. He is known for his knowledge of the law and for tenacious and innovative defense of his clients.
Protect Your Rights By Calling Us Immediately
Sheridan & Dulas, P.A., does not hold your hand while you plead guilty to DWI. We fight every case to avoid jail, a criminal record, license revocation, ignition interlock and all the collateral consequences. The earlier we get involved, the better your chances of changing the outcome.
Contact our office today at 651-686-8800 to set up a free, no-obligation consultation. Our lawyers practice across the Twin Cities, including Dakota, Washington, Hennepin, Scott, Carver, Ramsey, Goodhue and Anoka counties, and in greater Minnesota.